Connect with us



…As Speaker of house of representatives, charges leadership of institute to embrace technology



Professor Pius Olarewaju has been sworn-in as the 23td president of the Chattered institute of Bankers, C.I.B.N..
Cablenews24 reports that the well-attended event had dignitaries, leaders in the financial sector, families, friends and well-wishers besieged the Landmark event centre-venue of the ceremony ,to catch a glimpse of the epoch making moment of the swearing-in of Professor Pius Olanrewaju as the 23rd President/Chairman of the Council, Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria, C.C.CB.N.
The ascension of Olarewanju comes on the heels of the expiration of the two-year tenure of the Dr. Ken Opara as the 22nd President and Chairman of Council of the Institute, held on Thursday.
Olanrewaju was sworn in by Justice Owolabi Dabiri at an event chaired by Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun.
Olanrewaju was sworn in by Justice Owolabi Dabiri at an event held in Lagos on Friday which was chaired by Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun.
This Online News Medium reports that in his goodwill message, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, who was represented by the chairman, of the House Committee on Banking, Nwachukwu Eze, hailed the immediate past CIBN president, Ken Opara.
He called on the institute to remain steadfast in its commitment to excellence and innovation.
Abbas said, “Today, as you welcome the incoming President and new Chairman of the Council, we also reflect on the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead. The banking sector is constantly evolving, driven by technological advancements, regulatory changes, and shifts in customer behaviour.
In the face of these types of changes, the CIBN must remain steadfast in its commitment to excellence and innovation. The incoming leadership must embrace new ideas and emerging technologies and foster collaboration within the industry to navigate these challenges and seize the opportunities that lie ahead.
“As we look to the future, we must not lose sight of the importance of financial inclusion and sustainable development. Despite progress has been made in expanding access to financial services. Millions of Nigerians remain on the side or excluded from the formal banking sector. It is incumbent upon all stakeholders including the CIBN to redouble your efforts to promote financial literacy, expand access to finance, and foster inclusive growth, that leaves no one behind.”
In his acceptance speech, prof. Pius Olarenwaju, thanked God for making the day a reality and making the transition seamless and hitch free.
He described the election that returned members of the governing council for the year 2024-2026 as unprecedented in the history of the institute.
He spoke on the economic dynamics, particularly the micro economic pressures, calling for adaptability and strategic focus.
Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, Bello Hassan, called on banking sector players to pay attention to cybersecurity. He noted that a deliberate and collaborative approach to cyber risk involving all stakeholders is essential to protect the resilience of the banking system.
Other elected officeholders include First Vice President, Dele Alake, Second Vice President, Mojisola Bakare-Asieru, and National Treasurer, Peter Ashade.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *