Connect with us


Newly-Elected UK Prime Minister Keir Starmer Makes First Cabinet Appointments



Newly-elected UK Prime Minister Keir Starmer has announced his first cabinet appointments, the BBC reported on Friday.

Cablenews24 reports that this comes after his centre-left Labour Party achieved a landslide victory in the general election, ending 14 years of Conservative governance.

Starmer arrived as the party’s first PM since Gordon Brown in 2010 and had been asked by King Charles III to form a government during a meeting at Buckingham Palace on Friday.

Below is the list of the 10 new cabinet members:

READ: UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak Resigns After Defeat To Labour Party

Angela Rayner – Deputy Prime Minister

Rachel Reeves – Chancellor

David Lammy – Foreign Secretary

Yvette Cooper – Home Secretary

John Healey – Defence Secretary

Pat McFadden– Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Ed Miliband – Energy Secretary

Bridget Phillipson – Education Secretary

Wes Streeting – Health Secretary

Shabana Mahmood – Justice Secretary

Details later…

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *